UCSB Professors Alan Heeger and Arthur Gossard Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Two UC Santa Barbara professors today were elected members of the nation's most prestigious scientific organization, the National Academy of Sciences.

Alan Heeger, a winner of the 2000 Nobel Prize in Chemistry and a professor in UCSB's physics and materials departments, and Arthur Gossard, a professor of electrical and computer engineering, and materials, were among 72 new members elected during the academy's 138th annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

Their election brings to 18 the number of

current UCSB faculty so honored.

In addition, 14 current UCSB scholars -- including Gossard -- are members of the National Academy of Engineering.

Chancellor Henry T. Yang called the election of two more UCSB faculty members to the National Academy of Sciences a major honor that reflects exceptional achievement.

"We are extremely pleased that my two highly distinguished colleagues have been recognized with this extraordinary honor," he said.

"Being elected by peers to this prestigious academy is a magnificent achievement, one that brings distinction to our campus as well as our community."

Election to the NAS is considered one of the highest honors an American scientist or engineer can achieve.

Including the latest electees, there are just 1,874 members nationwide.

"It's a great thrill," said Heeger, whose pioneering work in developing

conductive polymers earned him a Nobel Prize last year.

"Aside from the work that we do as scientists, the respect and esteem of our colleagues is something very important to us."

Heeger has been on the UCSB faculty since 1982 and has won numerous other awards and recognition.

Gossard, who recently was awarded the American Physical Society's 2001 James McGroddy Prize for New Materials for his 25 years of work developing molecular beam epitaxy, was also gratified by his election.

"It's just pleasing to have recognition of the work," Gossard said.

"And it was nice to have the recognition of people whom I have worked with."

Gossard has been a member of the UCSB faculty since 1987.

Share this article