UC Santa Barbara Alumni Awards honor graduates and friends for their achievements and their service to the university

Gauchos for Life

UC Santa Barbara Alumni Awards honor graduates and friends for their achievements and their service to the university
UC Santa Barbara Alumni Awards honor graduates and friends for their achievements and their service to the university
2018 UC Santa Barbara Alumni Awards Celebration
2018 UC Santa Barbara Alumni Awards Celebration
2018 UC Santa Barbara Alumni Awards Celebration

For nearly 60 years, UC Santa Barbara Alumni has followed a tradition of honoring the achievements of outstanding alumni and friends of the university.

This year is no exception, and five individuals will be fêted Friday, Oct. 5, at the campus’s Corwin Pavilion. The 2018 UC Santa Barbara Alumni Award recipients include Rachel Winter, Judith Hopkinson, Dorothy Largay and Wayne Rosing and Linda La Kretz Duttenhaver.

“It is truly a pleasure to honor these individuals who have done so much for UC Santa Barbara,” said George Thurlow, assistant vice chancellor and executive director of UC Santa Barbara Alumni. “They demonstrate the support and generosity of our friends and alumni.”

Winter will receive the Distinguished Alumni Award while Largay, Rosing and Hopkinson are recipients of the Honorary Alumni Award. Duttenhaver will be presented the Graver Alumni Service Award.

The celebration begins at 6 p.m. Tickets are $65, and reservations can be made by contacting Lauren Cain, UC Santa Barbara Alumni programs coordinator, at (805) 893-4140 or at programs@alumni.ucsb.edu.

Rachel Winter

Distinguished alumna Winter (’93) is the Academy Award-nominated producer of “Dallas Buyers Club,” which garnered six nominations, including best picture, and best actor and best supporting actor wins. The film was also recognized by the Screen Actors Guild, the Broadcast Film Critics Association and the Hollywood Foreign Press’s Golden Globe Awards.

Recently, Winter wrapped principal photography on her directorial debut, “The Space Between,” a film starring Kelsey Grammer, Jackson White and Paris Jackson. Earlier this year she produced the film “Krystal,” directed by and starring William H. Macy and featuring Rosario Dawson, Kathy Bates, Felicity Huffman and rapper T.I. Winter also produced the independent drama “Stealing Cars,” which premiered at the Los Angeles Film Festival and earned the festival’s Zeitgeist Award.

Judith Hopkinson

Honorary alumna Hopkinson also is a Regent Emerita, appointed to the UC Board of Regents in 1999. During her tenure, she chaired the compensation, finance, investment and grounds and buildings committees. She is a graduate of UC Berkeley.

Formerly the chief operating officer of Ameriquest Capital Corporation, a national financial services company with 4,000 employees in offices throughout the United States, Hopkinson became a trustee of the UC Santa Barbara Foundation in 2000 and served as a member of the Trustee Advisory Committee on Isla Vista Strategies in 2014.

Hopkinson is a past president and current member of the board of the Community Arts Music Association of Santa Barbara, a past board member of Cottage Health Systems and a past board member of both the Santa Barbara Museum of Art and the Ensemble Theatre Company. She has served on the California Transportation Commission as a member, vice chair and chair, and is a founding board member of the California Association for Local Economic Development. She served on the California State Bar Client Security Fund, and was a member of the Senate Housing Authority Task Force and a member and vice chair of the Los Angeles County Board of the Rail Construction Company.

Dorothy Largay and Wayne Rosing

Also honorary alumni, Largay and Rosing have long been strong supporters of UC Santa Barbara. Largay is the founder and chief executive officer of the Linked Foundation in Carpinteria, an organization dedicated to improving the health of women in Latin America and in the United States. To date, the foundation’s work has improved the lives of hundreds of thousands of women and their families.

Prior to starting Linked, Largay was a management consultant specializing in leadership and organizational development. She has served on the board of directors of Direct Relief and of Cottage Health System.

A recipient of the Spirit of Entrepreneurship’s Rock Star: Life Achievement Award, in 2017 Largay was named Philanthropist of the Year by the Association of Fundraising Professionals. She received her bachelor of arts degree from Boston College and her Ph.D. in psychology from the University of Oregon.

Rosing’s career as a computer engineer has spanned leadership roles at Google, where he was vice president of engineering, and at Digital Equipment Corporation, Apple and Sun Microsystems. In May 2005 he was appointed senior fellow in mathematical and physical sciences at UC Davis.

Rosing’s engineering accomplishments include founding Las Cumbres Observatory (LCO) Global Telescope Network, Inc., where he and his fellow engineers and scientists have developed a network of 1- and 0.4-meter telescopes that are placed at prime observing locations throughout the world. Data from the LCO telescope network are used by international teams of astronomers, including at UC Santa Barbara, for scientific exploration.

Rosing’s and Largay’s support of UC Santa Barbara includes UCSB Arts & Lectures, which has been a primary beneficiary, as has the campus’s Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics, where the couple has endowed a chair and where Rosing serves as an advisor to the director. Their generosity also extends to the Department of Physics, which maintains a strong partnership with LCO, and to the Byrne Observatory at the Sedgwick Reserve.

Linda La Kretz Duttenhaver

Another ardent supporter of the Sedgwick Reserve is Graver Alumni Service Award recipient Duttenhaver (’77). President of Crossroads Management Inc., a real estate development and property management firm based in Los Angeles, Duttenhaver first became involved at Sedgwick in 2008 when she funded the restoration of the reserve’s 1908 hay barn. That barn is now the site of Sedgwick’s educational outreach program, which brings visitors, school children and neighbors to the reserve to learn about and explore its natural resources.

Duttenhaver also made possible the restoration of the historic Ranch House, and a subsequent gift, made with her father, Morton La Kretz, created the La Kretz Research Center at Sedgwick Reserve.

Demonstrating her support of the university’s teaching mission, Duttenhaver established UC’s Duttenhaver Scholars program for international study, providing significant financial assistance to students participating in UC’s Education Abroad. Since the program’s inception, these scholarships have enabled 700 students to study at universities around the world.

Having completed her bachelor of arts degree in French at UC Santa Barbara, Duttenhaver went on to earn a master’s degree in international management at Arizona State University’s Thunderbird School of Global Management. She was elected a trustee of the UC Santa Barbara Foundation in 2018.

More information about the UC Santa Barbara Alumni Awards Celebration can be found at https://www.ucsbalum.com/events/awards.

Share this article