Excellence Achieved

Ten staff members receive Citation of Excellence awards

As part of the campus’s first annual StaffMaynia, a monthlong celebration of UC Santa Barbara staff, 10 individuals have received 2021 Staff Citation of Excellence awards in recognition of their “outstanding achievements and meritorious service.”

This year’s recipients include Christine Burleson, Department of Recreation; Earnest Cooper, Department of Physics; Andrea Ellickson, Department of Global Studies; Jamie File, Campus Advocacy, Resources & Education; Joel Gonzalez, Communication Services; Shariq Hashmi, College of Engineering; Yann Ricard, Department of Earth Science; Brian Shively, Housing, Dining & Auxiliary Enterprises; Jackson Smidt, Athletics; and Eric Veal, Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology.

Sponsored by Staff Assembly, the each award consist of $500 and a plaque. More information about the Citations of Excellence and the recipients can be found on the Staff Assembly website.

In addition, the Kevin McCauley Outstanding Staff Award was presented by the Council of University of California Staff Assemblies to Jane Gama, employee engagement specialist in the campus’s human resources office. Created in 2015 as a memorial to the long-time UC (and UC Santa Barbara) staff member, the award recognized staff members within UC who “are supportive and inclusive of staff, and encourage equity, diversity, and community, are forward thinking, and do not compromise quality.”

Also recognized, were this year’s Dilling Yang Endowed Scholarship recipients. They include Valerie Davis, College of Engineering; Hannah Irvine, Education Abroad Program; Ruquayyah Mansour, Development; Jayne Reimel, Office of Admissions; and Yufen Wang, Arts Administrative Support Center.

Share this article