‘For Outstanding Scholarship and Extraordinary Service’

UC Santa Barbara announces winners of Thomas More Storke Award and other top university prizes

For their scholastic achievement, their extraordinary service to the university and the community, and their personal courage and persistence, three graduating seniors at UC Santa Barbara have been named winners of the university’s top awards.

• Jeike Adrian Mathilde Meijer is the recipient of the Thomas More Storke Award for Excellence, the campus’s highest student honor, for outstanding scholarship and extraordinary service to the university, its students and the community. She is completing her bachelor’s degrees in global studies and in feminist studies, with a minor in German.

Taylor Colette Jackson is the recipient of the Jeremy D. Friedman Memorial Award, which recognizes outstanding leadership, superior scholarship and contributions to undergraduate life on campus. She is completing her bachelor’s degree in sociology.

Tiana E. Curry is the recipient of the Alyce Marita Whitted Memorial Award, which recognizes a nontraditional student’s endurance, persistence and courage in the face of extraordinary challenges while pursuing an academic degree. She is completing her bachelor’s degree in mathematics.

These and other student award winners were honored Sunday, June 7, at a Virtual University Awards Ceremony.

The 2020 Mortar Board Award, which is given in recognition of having earned the highest cumulative GPA of the graduating class, was presented to Lingxiao Zhou. She has completed bachelor of science degrees in mathematics and in statistics and data science.

In addition, Monica E. Valera Canales received the Yonie Harris Award for Civility in Public Discourse, which is presented to a graduate who best exemplifies the principles of free speech and respectful dialogue and who fosters a campus climate of civility and open-mindedness; and Michael Gary Stallworth received the Michael D. Young Engaged Scholar Award, named for the vice chancellor for student affairs emeritus and is awarded to students who have skillfully integrated their scholarly knowledge and/or values into action.

Other awards included the University Service Award, the University Award of Distinction and the Vice Chancellor's Award for Scholarship, Leadership and Citizenship.

Share this article