For Extraordinary Commitment to Students

Getman and Villa awards are presented to Student Health Services and others

Recipients of the Margaret T. Getman Award and the William J. Villa Service to Students Award, were recognized at the Student Affairs divisional meeting Thursday, June 4.

Named for the campus’s former dean of student residents and the former director of admissions, respectively, the awards recognize extraordinary commitment to the growth and development of students and to the quality of student life at UC Santa Barbara.

The Getman recipients include Walid Afifi, a professor of communication; Miles Ashlock, Office of Student Life; Thomas Even, vice chair and senior lecturer in the Department of Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology; Natalie Gonzalez, Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships; Deb Karoff, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs; and Xiomara Lopez, Educational Opportunity Program.

The Villa award was presented to Student Health Services and to Veterans Services.

Share this article