For ‘Dedication in Science and Technology’

UC Santa Barbara Chancellor Henry T. Yang is honored by the National Academy of Engineering

The National Academy of Engineering has named UCSB Chancellor Henry T. Yang the recipient of the 2016 Arthur M. Bueche Award. The award, which consists of a commemorative medal, was presented at the academy’s annual meeting earlier this month in Washington, D.C.

Established in 1982, the award honors an engineer who has shown dedication in science and technology, as well as involvement in determining United States science and technology policy, promoting technological involvement and contributing to the enhancement of the relationship among industries, government and universities.

Yang, also a professor in UCSB’s Department of Mechanical Engineering, was cited for “seminal research in aerospace, civil, and mechanical engineering; superb contributions to national science and technology policy; and enhancements to international technological development and cooperation.”

“The Arthur M. Bueche Award is one of the three awards presented annually to outstanding engineers by the National Academy of Engineering, which is the premier institution of U.S. engineers in all fields,” said Rod Alferness, dean of UCSB’s College of Engineering.

Yang specializes in aerospace engineering; aircraft structures; structural dynamics and control; transonic aeroelasticity; finite elements; composite materials sensing and control of structures for wind and earthquake loads; health monitoring of buildings; machining processes; intelligent manufacturing systems; and bio-inspired structural control.

He has authored or co-authored 184 articles for scientific journals, including 54 since becoming chancellor, as well as a widely used textbook on finite element structural analysis. He teaches an undergraduate engineering course every year as well as an online course, and has completed the guidance of 53 Ph.D. and 21 master’s theses. Currently, he is guiding three Ph.D. students with support from National Science Foundation grants.

A member of the National Academy of Engineering since 1991, Yang is a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, the American Society for Engineering Education and the American Association of Mechanical Engineers. He is the recipient of numerous awards and honors, including seven honorary doctorates; the American Society for Engineering Education’s Benjamin Garver Lamme medal, the highest honor the society bestows; and the Structures, Structural Dynamics, and Materials Award from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

The National Academy of Engineering’s Arthur M. Bueche Award is named for a man widely known as a statesman and advocate for science and technology; as an advisor to the U.S. government, academic institutions and international bodies; and as an innovator in applying research results to the needs of society.

At the time of his death in 1981, Bueche was senior vice president for corporate technology at General Electric Company and a member of the National Academy of Engineering. A special fund to support the award was established by the General Electric Company and augmented by contributions from Bueche’s many colleagues.

Share this article