Lisa Przekop

Lisa Przekop Appointed Director of Admission

Lisa Przekop has been named director of the Office of Admissions.

A UCSB alumna with 28 years of experience in the admissions office, she most recently served as associate director of school services.

“Lisa has been dedicated to building our culturally diverse and high achieving student body, and has worked tirelessly leading outreach programs for high school and community college students throughout California, the U.S., and internationally,” said Chancellor Henry T. Yang. “We appreciate her leadership and her longstanding devotion to our university.”

Przekop, who has a bachelor’s degree in development and experimental psychology and a master’s degree in education, has served on numerous educational committees and boards. Among them are the UCSB Alumni Association Board of Directors, the California Student Opportunity and Access Program Board of Directors, and the Student Aid Committee of the Santa Barbara Foundation. Most recently, she joined the board of the Foodbank of Santa Barbara County.

 In addition, Przekop is a recipient of the Margaret T. Getman Service to Students Award, and has been recognized as Greek Advisor of the Year for her work with the Zeta Chapter of the multicultural Lambda Sigma Gamma Sorority. In 2008, Przekop founded the campus’s Guardian Scholars Program, which supports the needs of former foster youth enrolled at UCSB, and she continues to serve as the program’s advisor. The Santa Barbara Independent has honored Przekop as a “Local Hero” for her work with Santa Barbara youth.

“I am very pleased that Lisa has been named the campus’s new director of admissions,” said Michael Young, vice chancellor for student affairs. “She brings a wealth of experience to the position, as well as an unwavering dedication to UCSB students and to the campus community as a whole.”

 Said Mary Nesbit, dean of undergraduate education: “I am delighted to welcome Lisa as the new director of admissions. I very much look forward to working with her in her new role, and know she will bring even more distinction to our excellent Office of Admissions.”

In a statement to the campus, Yang thanked the search advisory committee co-chaired by Nisbet and John Park, chair and professor of Asian American Studies and chair of the Academic Senate Committee on Admissions, Enrollment, and Relations With Schools.

Przekop replaces Christine Van Gieson, who retired last spring. In his statement, Yang also cited Van Gieson for her 40 years of service to the university.

Share this article