## UC SANTA BARBARA



October 25, 2007 Gail Gallessich

## Five UCSB Faculty Members Named AAAS Fellows

Five faculty members at UC Santa Barbara have been awarded the distinction of Fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as a Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

This year 471 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin at the Fellows Forum during the 2008 AAAS annual meeting in Boston in February.

This year's AAAS Fellows will be announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on 26 October 2007.

The new UC Santa Barbara AAAS Fellows are:

Guillermo C. Bazan, professor of chemistry and biochemistry, for design and realization of tandem catalysts for the production of polyolefins, and for the rational design of materials with desirable electro-optical properties.

Barbara Herr Harthorn, associate professor of women's studies and director of the Center for Nanotechnnology in Society, for contributions in bringing together scientists, social scientists, policy makers, and the general public to gain awareness and understanding of the risks and opportunities in science and technology.

Ken C. Macdonald, professor of marine geophysics and Earth science,

for fundamental contributions to the understanding of the tectonics of the worldencircling mid-ocean ridge system and the construction and evolution of oceanic crust.

John M. Melack, professor of ecology, evolution and marine biology and associate dean of the Bren School of Environmental Science & Management, for internationally recognized research on the inherently interdisciplinary topics of limnology and watershed-level biogeochemical cycles, in high mountains, saline lakes, and Amazon wetlands.

Jeffrey D. Richman, professor of physics,

for contributions to the field of elementary particle physics, particularly for experiments exploring the physics of heavy quarks and the source of matter-antimatter asymmetry.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the association's 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee's institution), or by the AAAS Chief Executive Officer. Each steering group then reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world's largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal, Science (<a href="www.sciencemag.org">www.sciencemag.org</a>). AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world, with an estimated total readership of 1 million. The non-profit AAAS (<a href="www.aaas.org">www.aaas.org</a>) is open to all and fulfills its mission to "advance science and serve society" through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, and more.

## **About UC Santa Barbara**

The University of California, Santa Barbara is a leading research institution that also provides a comprehensive liberal arts learning experience. Our academic community

of faculty, students, and staff is characterized by a culture of interdisciplinary collaboration that is responsive to the needs of our multicultural and global society. All of this takes place within a living and learning environment like no other, as we draw inspiration from the beauty and resources of our extraordinary location at the edge of the Pacific Ocean.